IMSA Currently has the following Certifications:

I.M.S.A. Roadway Lighting Technician I​
IMSA Signs & Pavement Markings Technician I
IMSA Signs & Pavement Markings Technician, II
IMSA Traffic Signal Technician I
​IMSA Traffic Signal Inspector
I.M.S.A. Traffic Signal Construction Technician II
IMSA Traffic Signal Field Technician, II
IMSA Traffic Signal Senior Field Technician III
IMSA Transportation Center System Specialist Level I​​
Work Zone Temporary Traffic Control Technician


Click here for Renewal Packet

International Municipal Signal Association
Section 2.0 Renewal Process

2.1 All current certification certificates are valid for a three (3) year period from the date of issue. The expiration date of all current certifications can be found on the certificate(s) and certification card(s).
2.2 Options for Renewal. There are three options for renewal of I.M.S.A. certifications.
Individuals may choose any one of the options. The renewal requirements must be completed prior to the expiration date of the individual's current certification(s).

A. Educational Units

1. College/Technical/Vocational coursework for a minimum of one (1) quarter or one (1) semester with a 'C' or higher passing grade. The coursework must be directly related to the certification(s) being renewed.
2. Continuing Education Units (C.E.U.). The training must be directly related to the certification(s) being renewed.
3. Continuing Education Credits (C.E.C.s). Your Section Certification
The chair or a C.E.C. representative gathers and submits these earned points on your behalf to the International Office for logging in to a database. Individuals should also record these points on their personal logs.
4. Renewal Hours by Personal Log (Members and/or Non-Members). Individuals must complete a personal log or diary of their continuing education by documenting training and/or certification(s) received. The training must be directly related to the certification(s) being renewed. For the training to be valid, it must be signed by one of the following: the speaker of a session, moderator of a class, supervisor, or your I.M.S.A.
Section Certification Chair. Personal logs may be downloaded from the I.M.S.A. Website at
5. Combination of 2, 3 & 4 above. For example, A combination of C.E.U.s and C.E.C.s may qualify an individual for certification renewal.
All educational units must be completed within the three (3) years prior to the certification(s) expiration date(s). All training documentation is subject to audit by I.M.S.A.'s International Office.
Each I.M.S.A. certification has a defined number of required educational hours based on the level and type of certificate as follows: Traffic Signals, Signs and Markings, Roadway Lighting, Fire Alarm, and Public Safety Telecommunications require a total of sixteen (16) hours of education. Work Zone Safety requires a total of four (4) hours of education.
Sixteen hours is defined as 1.6 CEUs, or 64 C.E.C.s, or 16 renewal hours.
Four hours are defined as 4 C.E.U.s or 16 C.E.C.s or 4 renewal hours.

B. Attending the Current Certification Course

This option requires the individual to attend the current 16-hour certification course without taking the exam. Individuals will be responsible for documenting their attendance in their Personal Log and shall have it signed by the moderator. BE SURE TO SIGN THE CLASS ROSTER, AS IT WILL BE AUDITED. You may ONLY use this option within "one year" prior to the expiration date. Please note: Traffic Signal III and Signs & Marking III courses will only count as 8 hours of training (16 hours of training is needed to complete the renewal process for these Level III programs.)

C. Higher Certification Level

Achieving the next higher certification level in each specialty will result in a new three-year certification; therefore, renewal of your existing certification will not be necessary. For example, An individual with a current Traffic Signal Level of I-certification who passes the Traffic Signal Level II certification course will receive a new certification level, which will be due for renewal three years from the date printed on the new certification.
2.3 Documentation. It is the certificate holder's responsibility to submit documentation to the I.M.S.A.
International office for renewal utilizing "Educational Units" including C.E.C.s and Personal Log/Diaries. All required documentation and the appropriate fees shall be sent in one mailing to I.M.S.A. prior to the expiration date.
2.4 Renewal After Expiration. For individuals with an expiration date on their certificate(s), if the certification is not renewed by the expiration date, the certification will lapse. The lapsed certificate holder will have one (1) year after the expiration date to reinstate their certification by documenting sixteen (16) hours of training through 2.2A or 2.2B. If the certification is not reinstated within one (1) year after the expiration date, the individual must renew through the normal certification process by taking the current certification exam at the highest level previously attained and paying the regular certification exam fee. The renewal fees do not apply to this method of certification; only the regular certification exam fees will be due. A retake of prerequisites will not be required. I.M.S.A. will not recognize any I.M.S.A. certificate(s) without an expiration date.
For those individuals without an expiration date on their certificate (s), they will need to follow the first renewal steps by submitting a Letter of Confirmation and renewal fee to the International Office as outlined in Section 1.0 of the policy.

Renewal Fee Schedule

1 Renewal $40.00 1 Renewal $60.00
2 Renewals 70.00 2 Renewals 90.00
3 Renewals 90.00 3 Renewals 110.00
4 or More Renewals 100.00 4 or More Renewals 120.00

The renewal fee schedule is based on an individual's certification, not an agency/employer group rate.
If you are not a member of I.M.S.A. and would like to receive the discounted member rate, please visit
our website at: to apply.